Ma Murray 2020 – Register Now!


The Ma Murray Awards are an opportunity to recognize the achievements of the association’s 95 member newspapers in British Columbia and Yukon. Dedicated to celebrating excellence amongst our member newspapers, we have been hosting the Ma Murray Awards for almost a century! This year’s Awards Gala will again include the five new DIGITAL award categories, plus the new New Journalist of the Year Award, along with 38 other categories, covering all aspects of the newspaper industry, including reporting, photography, advertising, community contribution, and more.

We are so proud of the work coming out of BC and Yukon community newspapers, and hope that all of our member papers will join us at the River Rock Casino Resort on Saturday, April 25, 2020 to celebrate the finalists!

Click above to see the complete list of finalists or to register using an online form. If you’d prefer to print off a registration form to complete by hand, download it here.

As always, the top three finalists in each category will be offered a complimentary ticket to attend the Gala, as well as a free night’s stay at the River Rock for the event night, courtesy of the BCYCNA and our generous event sponsors. (Please note that if it is a team entry, only ONE free ticket and ONE free hotel night is offered).

Everything you need to know about the event venue and booking your hotel room can be found here.

When & Where

The 2020 awards will be presented at a Gala event at the River Rock Casino Resort on Saturday, April 25, 2020.

The Schedule

1:30 – 2:00pm – BCYCNA AGMLillooet Room, River Rock Conference Centre

5:30 – 6:30pm – CATALYST PAPER PRESIDENT’S RECEPTIONRiver Rock Show Theatre Foyer 
Pick up your nametag and ticket here, and join us for hors d’oeuvres and an open bar before dinner.

5:30pm – end of dinner – BCYCNA SILENT AUCTIONRiver Rock Show Theatre Foyer
The BCYCNA is pleased to host another Silent Auction fundraiser. Thanks to the BCYCNA board of directors and all of our generous donors, you’ll be able to bid on thousands of dollars worth of getaways, concert and sporting tickets, and beautiful gifts! Check back soon for a list of donors.

We will open the doors to the theatre at 6:30pm. After some welcoming remarks and special presentations, enjoy a delicious dinner followed by the Ma Murray Awards presentation with hosts Jay Durant and Tara Jean Stevens.

10:00pm – midnight – AFTER-PARTY River Rock Show Theatre
With a special After-Party bar, photo booth, and music, put on your dancing shoes and celebrate!

Midnight – late – GLACIER LOUNGE
Once the theatre closes its doors, the after-after-party in the Glacier Lounge is the place to be, for the truly dedicated revelers.

Thank you to our confirmed sponsors!

Huge thanks to our confirmed presenting sponsors Black Press Media, Catalyst-A Paper Excellence Company, Coast Capital Savings, Glacier Media and KPU. We’d also like to extend our thanks to confirmed award sponsors Aberdeen Publishing, BC Care Providers Association, Concord Pacific, FortisBC, HUB International, Ledcor, Novex Delivery Solutions, River Rock Casino Resort, Trans Mountain, Tinhorn Creek Vineyards, and Vancouver Fraser Port Authority.

We still have sponsorship opportunities open for the 2020 Ma Murray Awards, giving businesses the chance to network in a room of 300 of the province’s top media professionals, and much more.

For information about sponsorship opportunities, contact Kerry Slater at or 604-248-4207.

Past Results, Highlights and Videos

2019 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2018 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2017 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2016 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2015 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2014 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2013 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2012 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2011 Ma Murray Results
2010 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2009 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2008 Ma Murray Results and Video
2007 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2006 Ma Murray Results
2005 Ma Murray Results
2004 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2003 Ma Murray Results
2002 Ma Murray Results
2001 Ma Murray Results
2000 Ma Murray Results
1999 Ma Murray Results
1998 Ma Murray Results

Our Presenting Sponsors


Our Award Sponsors