Ma Murray Awards 2019

The TD Ma Murray Awards are an opportunity to recognize the achievements of the association’s 97 member newspapers in British Columbia and Yukon. Dedicated to celebrating excellence amongst our member newspapers, we have been hosting the Ma Murray Awards for almost a century! This year’s Awards Gala will again include the five new DIGITAL award categories, plus a brand new New Journalist of the Year Award, along with 39 other categories, covering all aspects of the newspaper industry, including reporting, photography, advertising, community contribution, and more.

We’re thrilled to announce this year’s MCs, broadcasters Jody Vance and Perry Solkowski.

When & Where

The 2019 awards will be presented at a Gala event at the River Rock Casino Resort on Saturday, April 27, 2019. The River Rock has become a BCYCNA favourite and we are always delighted to bring our celebration there. Below is a breakdown of the event:

1:00pm – BCYCNA AGM – Thompson Room
All BCYCNA members are welcome at the BCYCNA Annual General Meeting.

5:30pm – Catalyst Paper President’s Reception – River Rock Theatre Foyer
No tickets will be mailed. As long as you have registered, your nametag and ticket will either be given to you when you check in to the hotel, or they will be waiting for you at our Gala welcome desk right outside of the Theatre. Join us here at 5:30pm for the President’s Reception, where you can enjoy some pre-dinner drinks, a few hors d’oeuvres, and a fantastic silent auction. Bring your credit card so you can bid on some amazing prizes!

6:30pm – TD BCYCNA Ma Murray Awards Gala – River Rock Theatre
Doors to the theatre will open – find your table and get comfortable. Salad will be served as guests get settled, and formalities begin at 7:00pm with some welcome speeches and presentations before dinner, followed by a wonderful meal and then the official award presentations.

10:15pm – After-Party begins, right in the theatre
Dancing, open bar, photo booth, and tons of fun! 

The registration period is now officially closed, but if you are still hoping to attend, please contact the BCYCNA office right away. The online registration form is still available by clicking the button below, or you can print out a registration form here.

We are so proud of the work coming out of BC and Yukon community newspapers, and are excited to welcome TD into the new role of title sponsor for 2019! We hope that all of our member papers will join us at the River Rock Casino Resort on Saturday, April 27, 2019 to celebrate the finalists!

As always, the top three finalists in each category are being offered a complimentary ticket to attend the Gala, as well as a free night’s stay at the River Rock for the event night, courtesy of the BCYCNA and our generous event sponsors. (Please note that if it is a team entry, only ONE free ticket and ONE free hotel night is offered).


For reference, you can download hard copies of all the 2019 contest forms below.

Thank you to our confirmed sponsors!

Huge thanks to our new title sponsor TD Bank Group, and to our confirmed presenting sponsors Black Press Media, Catalyst Paper, Coast Capital Savings, Glacier Media and KPU. We’d also like to extend our thanks to confirmed award sponsors Aberdeen Publishing, AffinityX, BC Care Providers Association, Concord Pacific, Eclipse Awards, Flint Group, FortisBC, HUB International, Ledcor, Novex Delivery Solutions, Port of Vancouver, River Rock Casino Resort, Tinhorn Creek Vineyards and Trans Mountain.

We still have sponsorship opportunities open for the 2019 Ma Murray Awards, giving businesses the chance to network in a room of 300 of the province’s top media professionals, and much more.

For information about sponsorship opportunities, contact Kerry Slater at or 604-248-4207.

Past Results, Highlights and Videos

2018 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2017 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2016 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2015 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2014 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2013 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2012 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2011 Ma Murray Results
2010 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2009 Ma Murray Results, Highlights and Video
2008 Ma Murray Results and Video
2007 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2006 Ma Murray Results
2005 Ma Murray Results
2004 Ma Murray Results and Highlights
2003 Ma Murray Results
2002 Ma Murray Results
2001 Ma Murray Results
2000 Ma Murray Results
1999 Ma Murray Results
1998 Ma Murray Results

Our Title Sponsor

Our Presenting Sponsors


Our Award Sponsors